Garlic Scapes, Spinach, and Broccoli – Oh My!

I love frittatas.

I ‘m a great fan of quiche, but I rather hate making the pie crust and pride keeps me from purchasing the pre-made store-bought kind. So, what’s a girl to do? Fortunately for me, frittatas are the next best thing and about a million steps easier.

I loved the recipe included with the share this week, but I really wanted to use the spinach, so I googled some recipes to try. Since I didn’t start dinner until about 8:00, I wanted something with less than 10 ingredients and about a 4 on the easiness scale. I settled on this recipe.

I didn’t have any sun-dried tomatoes and I wanted to also include the broccoli, so I ended up veering decidedly outside of the lines of the recipe and basically follow the steps but with my own ingredients (as usual). I also realized that my only oven-safe skillet was a huge cast-iron thing, so instead of 9 eggs, I went with SIXTEEN (thank you Milkweed Farm egg share!)This was probably going to be the biggest frittata ever made, but since it actually freezes really well, it worked to my advantage.

I used the full bag of spinach, the head of broccoli, 4 or 5 garlic scapes, a red pepper, onions, and a simple seasoning of fresh basil, fresh oregano and a touch of salt and pepper. I topped the frittata with Salt and Pepper Goat Cheese from Barred Owl Creamery. (We purchased the goat cheese at Milkweed Farm – we’ve only tried the salt & pepper kind, but we’re in heaven and it’s really reasonably priced for being both organic and local).

In case you like to ignore recipes and strike out on your own like me, I will warn you that if you make a bigger batch to incorporate all of your vegetables, make sure to cook on a lower temperature. While the frittata was quite good – all fluffy egg here, and all creamy goat cheese and fresh vegetables there – the bottom was slightly burned because I forgot that the thicker frittata would need longer to cook through.

For dessert/midnight snack, we had yogurt parfaits – this time made with homemade Maple Almond Granola, blueberry yogurt and the fresh strawberries. It was so good that I was actually able to stop myself from making homemade whipped cream for the third time this month!

– Valerie

P.S. I would be interested to hear if anyone else made a frittata this week and how it came out. Let us know about your experience in the comment section!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Garlic Scapes, Spinach, and Broccoli – Oh My!

  1. Debora

    everything looks good!

Leave a Reply

