April 29th

This morning I wake to a quiet farm… I make a cup of coffee, put a hat on, reluctant to admit that it is still required, and take a stroll along the vegetable fields.  These fields that Michael prepared last week, that were home to our fall cover crops, are now filled with onions, cabbage, chard, beets, and broccoli. I take a moment in the greenhouse-it’s warming and calm, and filled with spring life.  Pots of transplanted tomatoes, trays of leafy greens, and lingering shallots fill it’s tables.  Later this afternoon it will beg for a watering, and I will happily oblige.  I walk out to the barn, where Hank still resides, chewing his cud, and growing anxious for spring grass-soon I tell him-soon he will dance in the fields, and so will we.  Lucretia and Maeve have been off on a well deserved trip to Santa Fe for the past week, and Michael and the boys are off to work and school for the day.  I sit here now, taking in the work we have accomplished during this past week, and am filled with gratitude for our amazing community, that has supported me while Lucretia has been away.  I feel so blessed to be able to give my hands to this land, this family’s creation.  The work done here at Milkweed Farm is of the sacred-this land, this food, and this community.  Thank you, all of you, for the time, the love, and the intention.  Love, Muriel.

Take a moment to check out our eggs, featured on Standard Baking Co.’s facebook page!

https://www.facebook.com/standardbakingco?ref=ts&fref=ts

Leave a comment

April 29, 2015 · 8:51 am

Leave a Reply

