November 10, 2015

DSCN1110

If the world were merely seductive, that would be easy. If it were merely challenging, that would be no problem. But I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve (or save) the world and a desire to enjoy (or savor) the world. This makes it hard to plan the day.”  Mary Oliver

The 4th Fall Farm Share

Sweet Carrots

Arugula

Parsnips

Rosefinn Apple fingerling potatoes

Butterhead Lettuce

Buttercup Squash

Spinach

Red Onions

Bok Choi

Farm Eggs

Farmstead Granola

Sacred Basil Honey

Wholesome Holmstead Yogurt (and)

Cheese Curds

Tonight I’m roasting another one of our large roasting chickens in a big cast iron pan, surrounding it in chopped onions, fingerling potatoes, carrots and parsnips.  A little bit of butter, coconut oil or olive oil on the veggies, plus salt and pepper.   I’m starting late, so I put the oven at 375 degrees so that we can eat before we all fall asleep.   The earlier sunset of the past couple weeks has urged us to an earlier bedtime, which feels right at this time of year.

Another recipe I thought about and love when we have fall parsnips is a mash of potatoes, parsnips and garlic, with a good amount of butter and a little milk.  The yogurt would be good in this also.   This recipe from epicurious sounds delicious, especially the caramelized garlic!

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/mashed-potatoes-with-caramelized-garlic-and-parsnips-240575.

We have been enjoying the granola each morning with Wholesome Holmstead’s rich yogurt.  A drizzle of honey or maple syrup over the yogurt is wonderful.   Enjoy!

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “November 10, 2015

  1. PETER MILLIKEN

    I love these e-mails. Thanks.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Lovely share this week, again! I’d like to collect the fire cider that I missed last week, maybe in my box next week? I’m also wondering what you plan to offer for thanksgiving to help with my planning. Stuffing? What day is pickup?

    And can you remind me what last week’s squash is, or suggest a preparation for it? Thanks!

    -alicia

    >

    • milkweedfarm

      Hi A, Did you get the fire cider? If not, I’ll bring it with me to school. Thanksgiving share should have a bag of potatoes, onions, butternut, parsnips, bread stuffing, spinach, arugula, lettuce….. Those for sure.

  3. Ruby MacDonald

    All I can say is your photos are exquisite and exude sustenance in so many ways. I can get so lost in and calmed by them. From my perspective, you have the ideal life. Idyllic, but not lost on me how challenging and full of hard work (labors of love obviously) it is. To that point, this time of year for you is obviously and understandably cherished because, as you allude to, it’s your coziest, way-less-maniacal time of the year, with astounding beauty all around you brought by our fall/winter seasons. Enjoy the fall and winter! You help me do so via your posts and pics! Thanks, Ruby MacDonald

  4. Lu Jump

    What beautiful pictures! Wanted to let you know how much I appreciate all the work you and your family do to provide us with such delicious food! I love all the wonderful tinctures, salves, syrups Etc. that you and your family have created. I definitely can tell that they carry the energy of the love and dedication that you and your family bestow upon your sacred land! Thank You!🎈LU

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

